Harley Wood School

Harley Wood School of Astronomy (HWSA)

TIME/DATES   

Commences 14.30 (AEST) on Friday 9th July and concludes 12.00 Sunday 11th July 2021

 

VENUE 

La Trobe University Albury-Wodonga campus

See: https://www.latrobe.edu.au/albury-wodonga/about

We will meet in a 150 seat lecture theatre which has all AV requirements.

 

REGISTRATIONS ARE CLOSED

 

ORGANISING COMMITTEE (SOC/LOC) 

Christian Reichardt – UMelb

Rachel Webster – UMelb (emergency mobile: 0425 863 209)

Kim Dorrell – UMelb (emergency mobile: 0421 135 145)

Balu Sreedhar – UMelb

Yi Shuen (Christine) Lee – UMelb

Julian Carlin – UMelb

Juan Salcedo – SUT

Giulia Santucci – UNSW

Any questions please contact Kim Dorrell in the first instance.

 

PROGRAM  

The full schedule can be found here.

 

ACCOMMODATION 

The on-campus student accommodation will house around 20-25 people (one person per room) depending on availability. However, all linen (and toilet paper) would need to be supplied by the guests. The cost per room per night is approximately $49. There are a couple of motels and caravan parks nearby (short walk away), see below.

La Trobe’s location is marked with the yellow blob.

AU$100 – Big 4 Borderland Holiday Park * – about 200 m walk away. Approximately 20-25 more people could be accommodated here. The cost per person per night ranges from $58 – $95 which includes a 10% discount for a group booking. Sharing preferences will be noted on the registration form.

*CANCELLATION POLICY – If a COVID-19 related border closure or lockdown were declared that required us to cancel the event at short notice, we would get 100% refund of our booking fees. Other cancellations made more than 14 days before the arrival date will also receive a 100% refund. Cancellations received 7-14 days beforehand will forfeit 50% of the accommodation cost.

AU$137 – Econo Lodge Border Gateway

AU$129 – Belvoir Village Motel and Apartments 3*motel

AU$118 – Murray Valley Motel 3*motel

AU$125 – Wodonga Caravan and Cabin Park

AU$140 – Stagecoach Motel Wodonga 4* Hotel

 

TRANSPORT 

There are several options for people travelling from NSW, ACT and VIC. People from other states can join a group from any of these starting points or make their own arrangements. Transport costs are to be paid by local institutions (ie. not from event budget).

Melbourne -> Wodonga

  • Train/Bus

From Southern Cross station to Wodonga station. Travel time is approximately 4 hours 16 minutes (train and then coach). Return cost is $82 (adult) $41 (concession). Reservations are required for this regional service.

Melb -> Wodonga – Dep 09.26   Arr 13.42 (4 hr 16mins)

Wodonga -> Melb – Dep 12.54   Arr 16.40 (3hr 46 mins)

  • Car  

Driving time from Melbourne is approximately 3 hr and 27 mins (326.2 km) via M31.

 

Registrations are closed.

Online participation – NO CHARGE

In-person – $375 per person (+ GST)

Registration fees include:

  • Accommodation – Friday and Saturday nights 

This will be in either self-contained student rooms (shared bathrooms and all linen etc required) or on-site cabins or bungalows with separate bedrooms. Some of the larger cabins are two bedroom/twin share. Preferences will be captured on the registration form.

  • Meals
  1. Breakfast (Sat/Sun)
  2. Lunch (Sat/Sun)
  3. Afternoon tea (Fri)
  4. Dinner (Fri/Sat)

Any dietary requirements will be noted at the time of registration.

Drinks at the evening meals will need to be paid for by the attendees.

  • Social Activities 
  1. Friday evening (weather-permitting) astrophotography tutorial/observing night led by Aman Chokshi (UMelb)
  2. Saturday afternoon session at the local Wodonga Bounce indoor trampolining centre (800m – 10 mins walk) or 10-pin bowling (6kms from campus, Uber?)
  3. Self-organised walk of the local Botanic Gardens

Your registration is not confirmed until payment has been received in full.

 

REFUNDS

Please email Kim Dorrell if you require a refund.

  • Cancellation requests received by 5pm AEST on Wed 23rd June will be 100% refundable.
  • Cancellation requests received by 5pm on Wed 30th June will be 50% refundable.
  • Cancellations after 30th June are non-refundable.

 

CONTACT

Any questions please contact Kim Dorrell in the first instance – 0421 135 145

 

IN-PERSON ATTENDEE LIST

NAME INSTITUTION EMAIL
Adam Batten Swinburne University of Technology abatten@swin.edu.au
Adam Ussing Swinburne University of Techonology aussing@swin.edu.au
Aman Chokshi The University of Melbourne achokshi@student.unimelb.edu.au
Amy Weir Monash University awei0010@student.monash.edu
Andrés Vargas UniMelb afvargas@student.unimelb.edu.au
Balu Sreedhar University of Melbourne bsreedhar@student.unimelb.edu.au
Benjamin Metha University of Melbourne methab@student.unimelb.edu.au
Bron Reichardt Chu CAS, Swinburne University of Technology breichardtchu@swin.edu.au
Tom Behrendt The University of Melbourne tbehrendt@student.unimelb.edu.au
Cassidy Mihalenko The University of Melbourne mihalenkoc@student.unimelb.edu.au
Colin Jacobs Swinburne colinjacobs@swin.edu.au
Daniel McPherson Swinburne University of Technology dmcpherson@swin.edu.au
Doran Huh The University of Melbourne dhuh@student.unimelb.edu.au
Giulia Cinquegrana Monash University giulia.cinquegrana1@monash.edu
Isobel Romero-Shaw Monash isobel.romero-shaw@monash.edu
Jaimie Rose Sheil Monash University jaimie.sheil@monash.edu
James Paynter The University of Melbourne jpaynter@student.unimelb.edu.au
Jemma Pilossof University Melbourne jpilossof@student.unimelb.edu
Juan Espejo Swinburne University of Technology jespejosalcedo@swin.edu.au
Julian Carlin The University of Melbourne jcarlin@student.unimelb.edu.au
Justin Clancy University of Melbourne clancyj1@student.unimelb.edu.au
Karl Glazebrook Swinburne kglazebrook@swin.edu.au
Kim Dorrell The University of Melbourne kdorrell@unimelb.edu.au
Tom Behrendt The University of Melbourne tbehrendt@student.unimelb.edu.au
Lennart Balkenhol University of Melbourne lbalkenhol@student.unimelb.edu.au
Lewis Lakerink Swinburne UoT llakerink@swin.edu.au
Maddy Howell Monash University madeline.howell1@monash.edu
Madhooshi Senarath Monash University madhooshi.senarath@monash.edu
Matthew Thomas The University of Melbourne thomasm3@student.unimelb.edu.au
Melanie Hampel Monash University Melanie.Hampel@monash.edu
Mitchell Dixon Swinburne University of Technology mdixon@swin.edu.au
Nichole Barry University of Melbourne nichole.barry@unimelb.edu.au
Oliver Anagnostou The University Of Melbourne oanagnostou@student.unimelb.edu.au
Rachel Webster The University of Melbourne r.webster@unimelb.edu.au
Renee Key Swinburne rgracekey@gmail.com
Rowina Nathan Monash University rowina.nathan@gmail.com
Ryan Turner Swinburne University of Technology rjturner@swin.edu.au
Simon Mutch The University of Melbourne smutch@unimelb.edu.au
Sonja Panjkov University of Melbourne srpanjkov@student.unimelb.edu.au
Teagan Clarke Monash tcla0007@student.monash.edu
Yi Shuen Christine Lee The University of Melbourne ylee9@student.unimelb.edu.au

 

ONLINE ATTENDEE LIST

NAME INSTITUTION EMAIL
Abbe May Whitford University of Queensland abbe.whitford@gmail.com
Albany Asher Western Sydney University 20202949@student.westernsydney.edu.au
Alexandra Moroianu UWA OzGrav/ICRAR 21964768@student.uwa.edu.au
Alexis Heitzmann University of Southern Queensland alexis.heitzmann@usq.edu.au
Aman Khalid University of New South Wales aman.khalid@unsw.edu.au
Andrew Jolly University of New South Wales andrew.j.jolly@unsw.edu.au
Andrew Law The University of Melbourne aishk.law@gmail.com
Anishya Harshan UNSW anishya13@gmail.com
Arianna Dolfi CAS, Swinburne University of Technology adolfi@swin.edu.au
Boquan Chen University of Sydney bche3093@uni.sydney.edu.au
Chayan Chatterjee University of Western Australia chayan.chatterjee@research.uwa.edu.au
Chen Cheng University of Sydney cche2532@uni.sydney.edu.au
Claudia Saez UNSW claudiarsaez@gmail.com
Craig Meyer The University of Western Australia craig.meyer@research.uwa.edu.au
Damon Beveridge The University of Western Australia damon.beveridge@research.uwa.edu.au
Daniel Hey University of Sydney dhey3294@uni.sydney.edu.au
Daniele d’Antonio University of Technology Sydney (UTS) daniele.dantonio@student.uts.edu.au
Deepak Chahal Macquarie University deepak.chahal@students.mq.edu.au
Devika Shobhana WSU 90943721@westernsydney.edu.au
Di Wang USYD di.wang@sydney.edu.au
Filip Cha The University of Sydney fcha8613@sydney.edu.au
Georgia Hartzenberg Queensland University of Technology grh8893@outlook.com
Giulia Santucci UNSW g.santucci@student.unsw.edu.au
Gurvarinder CAS, Swinburne University ggurvarinder@swin.edu.au
Hasti Nateghi Swinburne university of technology hnateghi@swin.edu.au
Jack Engdahl UNSW j.engdahl@student.unsw.edu.au
Jack Hon University of Melbourne whon@student.unimelb.edu.au
Jacky Thong University of Melbourne kokhongt@student.unimelb.edu.au
James Leung University of Sydney jleu9465@uni.sydney.edu.au
Jennifer Hardwick ICRAR-UWA jennifer.hardwick@icrar.org
Jessica Thorne ICRAR-UWA jessicaethorne@gmail.com
Kaho Tse Monash Uni kaho.tse@monash.edu
Kieran Luken Western Sydney University k.luken@westernsydney.edu.au
Kirsten Banks UNSW k.banks@unsw.edu.au
Lachlan Marnoch Macquarie University lachlan.marnoch@hdr.mq.edu.au
Liana Rauf University of Queensland l.rauf@uq.net.au
LiRoy Lourenço University of Sydney llou8283@uni.sydney.edu.au
Maddie McKenzie ANU madeleine.mckenzie@anu.edu.au
Manasvee Saraf ICRAR-UWA and CSIRO manasvee.saraf@icrar.org
Marcie Mun Australian National University jaeyeon.mun@anu.edu.au
Mark Edwards University of Sydney medw5112@uni.sydney.edu.au
Markus Dirnberger Australian National University markus.dirnberger@anu.edu.au
Matt Roth Australian National University m.a.roth@gmx.com
Mawson Sammons ICRAR/Curtin mawson.sammons@postgrad.curtin.edu.au
Mohsen Shamohammadi Swinburne University of Technology mshamohammadi@swin.edu.au
Nicholas Low University of Melbourne nlow1@student.unimelb.edu.au
Noura Alonzi The University Of Melbourne nalonzi@student.unimelb.edu.au
Peter Swanton The Australian National University peter.swanton@anu.edu.au
Prakrut Chaubal University of Melbourne pchaubal@student.unimelb.edu.au
Purmortal Wang SIfA/USYD zwan0382@uni.sydney.edu.au
Radhika Achikanath Chirakkara Australian National University Radhika.AchikanathChirakkara@anu.edu.au
Rebecca Lange Curtin university rebecca.lange@curtin.edu.au
Robert Koenig The University of Adelaide olaf2745@yahoo.de
Ryan Morris UNSW ryan.morris1@unsw.edu.au
Sabrina Einecke The University of Adelaide Sabrina.einecke@adelaide.edu.au
Shalmalee Kapse Macquarie University shalmalee.kapse@students.mq.edu.au
Shannon Melrose UNSW Sydney s.melrose@unsw.edu.au
Simon Goode Swinburne University of Technology sgoode@swin.edu.au
Teresa Klinner-Teo University of Sydney tkli4230@uni.sydney.edu.au
Tom Rutherford University of Sydney trut2989@uni.sydney.edu.au
Yaguang Li The University of Sydney yali4742@uni.sydney.edu.au
Yan Lai The University of Queensland y.lai1@uqconnect.edu.au
Yifan Mai SIfA ymai0110@uni.sydney.edu.au
Yuanming Wang The University of Sydney ywan3191@uni.sydney.edu.au
Ziteng Wang The University of Sydney ziteng.wang@sydney.edu.au

Registration Statistics

Harley Wood SchoolJuly 9, 2021
Harley Wood School has started
ASA2021 MeetingJuly 12, 2021
The meeting has started