Group Members

Group Leader

Professor Kenneth B. Crozier

Kenneth Crozier is Professor of Physics and Electronic Engineering. This is joint appointment between the School of Physics and the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering. Prior to joining the University of Melbourne, Kenneth Crozier was a faculty member in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University. He joined Harvard as an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering in 2004, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2008. He received his MSEE and PhD in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 1999 and 2003, respectively. In 2008, he was a recipient of a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation (USA) and a Loeb Chair at Harvard, an endowed position for junior faculty. In 2014, he was awarded an Innovation Fellowship from VESKI (Victorian Endowment of Science, Knowledge and Innovation) and an Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellowship on his return to Australia.


Research Fellows (alphabetical order)

Dr Sivacarendran Balendhran

Sivacarendran completed his B. Eng. and PhD at RMIT University, Australia. His research expertise includes two-dimensional materials synthesis and planar device development. His PhD thesis was entitled “Devices and systems based on two dimensional MoO3 and MoS2” and was completed under the supervision of Prof. Kourosh Kalantar-zadeh.


Dr Jasper Cadusch

Jasper completed his B.Sc., M.Sc. and PhD degrees in Physics at the University of Melbourne. His PhD thesis was entitled “Novel plasmonic elements for the generation, manipulation and detection of polarised light”. His PhD supervisor was Professor Ann Roberts.


Dr Vivek Shrestha

Vivek received his PhD in Electronic Engineering from Kwangwoon University in S. Korea. His PhD supervisor was Professor Sang-Shin Lee. His PhD thesis was entitled “Nanophotonic and Nanoplasmonic Color Filters Incorporating Metal/dielectric Nanoresonators”. Vivek received his Bachelor degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering from Tribhuvan University (Nepal).


Dr Dandan Wen

Dandan received his PhD in Physics from Heriot-Watt University (Scotland). His PhD supervisor was Dr Xianzhong Chen. His PhD thesis was entitled “Metasurfaces for Ultrathin Optical Devices with Unusual Functionalities”. He received his M.S. in Optics and his B.S. in Optical Information Science and Technology from Northwestern Polytechnical University (China).



PhD students (alphabetical order)


Mr Nima Azar

Nima received his M.S. in Electronics (Devices and Semiconductors) from the University of Tehran (Iran). His M.S. thesis was entitled “Material Preparation, Characterization, Conduction Modeling, and Electronic Applications of Polymer Matrix Composites.” His B.S. degree was in Electrical Engineering (Electronics) and from the University of Tabriz (Iran). His M.S. thesis supervisor was Dr Mahdi Pourfath (Assistant Professor).


Mr Jiajun Meng

Jiajun received his M.E. in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from the University of Melbourne. He received his B.Sc. degree in Electronic and Information Science and Technology from Fudan University (China). His M.E. capstone thesis was entitled “Computational Optical Microscope Using Domed LED Array Illuminator” and supervised by Ken Crozier.


Mr Zhe “Kelvin” Xu

Kelvin received his M.Sc. in Physics from the National University of Singapore. His M.Sc. thesis was entitled “Nonlinear optics properties in tunable star-shaped octupolar molecules containing triphenylamine center and benzimidazole branches.” His M.Sc. thesis supervisor was Professor Ji Wei. Kelvin received his B.Sc. degree from the National University of Defense Technology (China).


Mr Ming Ye

Ming received his M.E. degree in Optoelectronics from Zhejiang University (China). His M.E. thesis was entitled “Theoretical and experimental study of angle-insensitive plasmonic colour filters”. His M.E. thesis supervisor was Prof. Dongxian Zhang. He received his B.E. degree in Optoelectronics from Huazhong University of Science and Technology (China).


MSc students (alphabetical order)

Mr Neuton Li

Neuton received his B.Sc. degree in Physics from the University of
Melbourne. He is currently pursuing an MSc degree. His project is on
optical nanotweezers.

Mr Henry Tan

Henry received his B.Sc. degree in Physics from the University of
Melbourne. He is currently working on an MSc project on developing
spectrometers based on multimode optical fibres.