The International Research Network for Development of Antibiotic Peptides (IRNDAP) was established through support from the University of Melbourne’s International Research and Research Training Fund (IRRTF).
Our main aim is to establish an international collaborative research network of scientists to conduct fundamental studies targeting the development of a new class of antibiotics for combatting antibiotic resistant bacteria. In the first instance, this requires essential expertise from Australia, Europe and Asia, to establish IRNDAP.

The IRNDAP originally involved the following people:

  • A/Prof. Michelle Gee (UoM, School of Chemistry)
  • A/Prof Trevor Smith (UoM, School of Chemistry)
  • Prof. Frances Separovic (UoM, School of Chemistry)
  • Prof. Richard Strugnell (UoM, Microbiology and Immunology)
  • Prof. John Wade (Howard Flory Institute, Department of Neuroscience & Mental Health)
  • Prof. Amitabha Chattopadhyay (Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB), a constituent national lab of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Academy for Scientific and Innovative Research, Hyderabad, India)
  • Dr. Hirak Chakrabortty (CCMB)

We also aim to extend our collaborations with the Technische University Kaiserslautern, Aalen University of Applied Science, and the University of Ulm to build a tri-continental research consortium.